Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Haydn Middleton: ‘The Ballad of Syd & Morgan’ Norwich Launch

November 2 - 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

IMPORTANT UPDATE: PLEASE ARRIVE AROUND 6:45pm FOR A PROMPT 7:00pm START.

LONDON STREET WILL BECOME AN ‘EXCLUSION ZONE’ AT 7:00pm DUE TO THE COUNCIL’S FIREWORK DISPLAY – WE NEED YOU IN THE SHOP BEFORE THEN!

 

2018 has already been a big year for Propolis, the publishing imprint of the Book Hive.

The two books we released this summer – Hugh Lupton’s The Assembly of the Severed Head and Ann Mackmin’s Devoured – are now both on a second print run. Hugh’s book made it onto the ‘Not the Booker’ longlist. And Anna’s novel was described as a “sparkling, tragicomic tour de force” by the Guardian.

But we’re not stopping there…

We’re publishing another novel: The Ballad of Syd and Morgan by Haydn Middleton. 

And this gem of a book is very special indeed. Alex Preston has already described it as “brilliant” and “exquisite” in the Observer and Guardian’s ‘Ultimate Guide to Autumn Culture’!

Here’s the blurb:

A beautiful young man dressed in Cuban heels and a crushed-velvet jacket cuts a dash as he strides up Silver Street in his native Cambridge, heading for the ornate splendour of King’s College. It is 1968. He is the 22 year old Syd Barrett of Pink Floyd, and his destination is home to the great Edwardian novelist, 89 year old E M Forster.

What follows is a tender exchange of truths between two men belonging to opposite ends of the 20th century, but who find within each other’s company shadows of the same demons, loves and losses as well as the familiar weight of the creative impulse. They become unlikely comrades passing fleetingly through each other’s lives. Conjuring the mischievous spirit of Pan, Haydn Middleton has created an exquisite fiction involving two towering figures of English culture.

‘The Ballad of Syd & Morgan’ is a deeply moving but joyous portrait of the despair and redemption at the heart of artistic endeavour, as well as the essential solace of  companionship – wherever it may be found.

Middleton’s book is a masterful and puckish imagining, an endlessly quotable, literary Withnail and I (though sober – except for a couple of glasses of sherry and a questionable cigarette). It’s perfect for fans of E M Forster, Syd Barrett and Pink Floyd – though not exclusively. This is a story about the bitter-sweet nature of artistic expression, and a stirring depiction of cross-generational comradeship between a troubled young man and a sage storyteller.

Join us for the Norwich launch at The Book Hive! Expect a few readings, a signing, a little interview with Haydn conducted by Henry (owner of the Book Hive), plenty of wine, and buckets of good cheer.

A night not to be missed!

7:00pm start. FREE. Refreshments provided.

 

 

Details

Date:
November 2
Time:
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Organizer

The Book Hive
Phone:
01603 219268

Venue

The Book Hive
53 London Street
Norwich, NR2 1HL United Kingdom
+ Google Map